comment 0

How CrossFit Changed My Life

6.1.2013 The day my life changed. 

Despite being an athlete in secondary school, playing both netball and basketball, I’ve spent most of my life on the hefty side. Food has always been an issue for me, even to this very day. As my husband, Dave, now says after living with my parents for over a year, “It’s hard to say ‘NO’ to a filipino mother when she offers you food”. Telling my mother I didn’t want to eat her food is as good as telling her I didn’t love her, so I ate.

Image

(Yup, sounds like my mother)

Living away from home, and on my own, while studying in Melbourne was probably the only time I’d successfully kept my weight and diet in check. I’d signed up for a gym membership, spent most of my days with a Personal Trainer and ate better. I was finally comfortable in my own skin for once in my life but all good things must come to an end.

I moved back home after graduating and was back to eating to please my mother, and barely exercising in hot and humid Singapore. I also started working at an extremely stressful job and looked to food for comfort. Then one night, I slipped and fell in the shower. I dislocated my knee cap and had to have surgery to screw it back together. Things just spiralled downwards from there.

Without proper rehab, it took my knee longer to recover and simple activities like getting off a chair required someone else’s help. I’d basically given up and spent most of days burying myself in work and eating to suppress my feelings. By the end of 2012, I was the heaviest I’d been in my entire life.

CrossFit was never really something I saw myself being able to do. Like most individuals, I’d mostly only seen videos of extremely fit CrossFit athletes lifting heavy weight, looking like total badasses. It intimidated me but Dave wanted to give it a go and he was determined to have me come along for a class.

I promised I’d give CrossFit a shot once 2013 came so we spent December 2012 trying to get more active and trying our best to eat right. By the first week of January, we’d conquered a 5k (walked it of course) but I was still hesitant to give CrossFit a shot. I tried to delay it as much as I could but Dave was insistent we at least give the Intro class a shot so we signed up for one at CrossFit Unit and went in on 6.1.2013.

Coach Mel spent most of our Intro class teaching me basic movements my body had basically forgotten how to do. I couldn’t squat to save my life and was winded after a few sit ups, Coach Mel even had to teach me how to get off the floor. Dave nearly threw up. We got home and passed out only to wake up aching all over. Muscles I didn’t know existed were hurting, but I felt alive for the first time in my entire life.

It’s been over a year since that day and I’ve never looked back. There are still tons of movements I’m unable to do, but the effect CrossFit has had on my everyday life has been phenomenal. I went from someone who couldn’t go up a flight of stairs to someone who regularly does burpees, from having trouble walking to running 2km after a WOD.  I’ve gained insight into diet & nutrition over the past year, working with both Zone & Paleo, giving me confidence over choosing what I fuel my body with. 

Image

(Dave and I in our dirty white t-shirts post Tyre Flips with the some of our closest friends.)

Without trying to sound like a complete addict, CrossFit has completely changed my life.  I am healthier, stronger, and happier than I’ve ever been and have made many great friends in our community.  I cannot envisage my life without CrossFit and look forward to seeing the athlete I become.

Leave a Reply

